Bonefish Designs: Relocation and an Introduction

Image

Welcome to Bonefish Designs! If you happened to stumble across this page, I apologize for it’s sparseness. I just moved it from Blogger so I’m having to start over but I hope you decide it’s worth coming back to at another date and time- hopefully once I’ve started adding images and commentary.

 A bit of an introduction is in order, I suppose. My name is L.A. I’m 24 years old. I graduated from Shepherd University in West Virginia in 2010 with a BFA in printmaking and drawing. Currently I work as a lifeguard, a swim instructor, and as an after school enrichment instructor, which is just a fancy way of saying I teach art classes.

 In addition to my official day job, I’m also a freelance artist. I do a lot of designs for local bands and a lot of flash for local tattoo artists. I also do custom jewelry and fabric crafts, of which I get fairly decent business. Not enough to quit my day job, mind you, but enough that I can actually feel like a legitimate designer.

 I don’t really have much to say right now, I’m just hoping that a fresh start on a website like wordpress will get me some actual feedback! I’ve had a couple blogs before but I’m horrible at keeping them updated and didn’t really see a point in writing and sharing when I didn’t have ANY followers and wasn’t getting ANY sort of feedback.

My motivation for starting this blog was to keep myself accountable. I’m pretty good about getting my freelance work turned in by deadlines but my commissions are so few and far between and I’m absolutely terrible about just drawing.

 I used to be able to fill a sketch book in a matter of months, now I find myself struggling to even fill the first page and when I do start something, I’m absolutely terrible about finishing it. I’m hoping that writing this blog will give me the boost I need to throw myself back into my work. I’m really hoping that this blog will also hold me accountable to make sure I do finish what I started.

 I’m hoping to share my musings with you~ my art, my thoughts on other artists, my ideas and motivations and inspirations and hope that you, dear readers, should you happen to find my little corner of the internet, will find it worth your while and offer up your own opinions, fostering a healthy (and respectful) discussion.

 

About bonefishdesigns

I hold a BFA in printmaking and drawing from Shepherd University in Shepherdstown, WV. Drawing and illustration have always been my passion and I make my living teaching people how to draw and paint. Currently, in addition to my work as a lifeguard, swim instructor and an art teacher, I'm also an apprentice to a tattoo artist and have done quite a bit of flash as well. I started this blog more as a way for me to keep track of my thoughts and inspiration, resources and references but I'm more than happy to welcome you to it with open arms. View all posts by bonefishdesigns

Leave a Reply

mangotree illustration

Site now at mangotreeillustration.co.uk

TAM Blog

The Official Blog for Tattoo Artist Magazine

CRAFT FAIR-OLOGY

It all starts behind the scenes.

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

Artworx Gallery

ARTWORX GALLERY

Outside The Lines

Fun readings about Color, Art and Segmation!

Ladybird~Ink

Content Writing Service - "Reaping Business Fortunes Through Words"

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

mediaevalmusings

1,000 years of history in blog-sized bites.

Talia's World

A Home For Science Fiction and Fact

Utopia or Dystopia

where past meets future

