The Main Event

The Belmont Festival was yesterday. There were a bunch of people that came out that had been at the Sunday Sundown event last weekend. I had quite a few people ask me if I had had more business cards made like I promised. I told them I had. I passed out about 20.

I painted ALL afternoon! At one point I had a line clear across the park! And even a thunderstorm didn’t break up the party! I was set up under a tree at a metal table and folding chair and it was pouring. There was frequent cloud to ground lightning and I was told to just deal with it, that it would move on! Talk about dedication (not really, what can I do when the people paying me to be there told me to stay put?). I would’ve liked to’ve been set up under the picnic pavilion but no such luck!

The news crews came out and shot video of the event and I ended up on the 11 o’clock news last night. Nothing special, they shot over my shoulder. I was like “woooooooo my ear and my paint brush made it on the evening news!” haha.

They’ve got a photo of me up on their website with the actual news story too:

Image

I think I painted a bear on this kid’s cheek

It was still pretty cool to end up on the news, and for doing something that I love. We’ve got another event coming up in two weeks and I’m hoping the organizers will let me put up some of my personal art to showcase what I do when I’m not painting faces. I get a lot of compliments for my face painting but I cringe at some of the stuff I paint because it looks so blah and amateurish next to my big finished paintings.

I was also able to order the postcards I wanted, I used vistaprint to order my business cards and their “semi annual sale” happened to occur earlier this week and I was able to order 100 postcards for a pretty heavily discounted rate (yay coupons!). I’m hoping I’ll have them in time for the next event too.

Oh, next event, I really need to get one of those Off! bug repellant clips! I got eaten alive last night!

About bonefishdesigns

I hold a BFA in printmaking and drawing from Shepherd University in Shepherdstown, WV. Drawing and illustration have always been my passion and I make my living teaching people how to draw and paint. Currently, in addition to my work as a lifeguard, swim instructor and an art teacher, I'm also an apprentice to a tattoo artist and have done quite a bit of flash as well. I started this blog more as a way for me to keep track of my thoughts and inspiration, resources and references but I'm more than happy to welcome you to it with open arms. View all posts by bonefishdesigns

Leave a Reply

mangotree illustration

Site now at mangotreeillustration.co.uk

TAM Blog

The Official Blog for Tattoo Artist Magazine

CRAFT FAIR-OLOGY

It all starts behind the scenes.

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

Artworx Gallery

ARTWORX GALLERY

Outside The Lines

Fun readings about Color, Art and Segmation!

Ladybird~Ink

Content Writing Service - "Reaping Business Fortunes Through Words"

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

mediaevalmusings

1,000 years of history in blog-sized bites.

Talia's World

A Home For Science Fiction and Fact

Utopia or Dystopia

where past meets future

