Morphine

Finally we get to the whole point of my blog! My art! I’ve written about other peoples art and my opinions on art but I haven’t shared any of mine! 

Well, finally, I have something to share! One of my New Years resolutions was to draw more. I’ve been horrible about sticking to it but I’m pleased I’m at least trying to get back on track and after a several month long dry spell, I’m happy with what I’ve produced.

I’m tentatively calling the piece “Morphine”, since it’s derived from the poppy flowers which feature prominently in the painting and is a pain killer and a sedative. I wanted the girl to be beautiful and ethereal but also dangerous, like a poison. 

Image

“Morphine”, 2013

My plan is to keep the colour scheme at a minimal, mostly black/white with colour in the poppy flowers.

She’s going to be way different from what I usually do but sometimes less is more and the beauty is in the details. I’ve been so careful and painstakingly meticulous with the details and every mark on the paper is there on purpose. 

I’m still working on her and I’ve got more details I plan on adding so I won’t go to deep into “meaning” and “symbolism” since most of it won’t make sense at this stage anyways. Should you happen to find my little corner of the internet, I hope you come back to see the finished product.

About bonefishdesigns

I hold a BFA in printmaking and drawing from Shepherd University in Shepherdstown, WV. Drawing and illustration have always been my passion and I make my living teaching people how to draw and paint. Currently, in addition to my work as a lifeguard, swim instructor and an art teacher, I'm also an apprentice to a tattoo artist and have done quite a bit of flash as well. I started this blog more as a way for me to keep track of my thoughts and inspiration, resources and references but I'm more than happy to welcome you to it with open arms. View all posts by bonefishdesigns

Leave a Reply

mangotree illustration

Site now at mangotreeillustration.co.uk

TAM Blog

The Official Blog for Tattoo Artist Magazine

CRAFT FAIR-OLOGY

It all starts behind the scenes.

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

Artworx Gallery

ARTWORX GALLERY

Outside The Lines

Fun readings about Color, Art and Segmation!

Ladybird~Ink

Content Writing Service - "Reaping Business Fortunes Through Words"

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

mediaevalmusings

1,000 years of history in blog-sized bites.

Talia's World

A Home For Science Fiction and Fact

Utopia or Dystopia

where past meets future

