International Gem and Jewelry Show

The International Gem and Jewelry Show made it’s way back to Dulles today. I went for the first time back in May and got some really great beads for super cheap.

I was worried about making the trip today, because my finances are so tight, but I’m relieved to say, not only did I find some really awesome stuff for super discounted, last day of the show prices, I was able to get into the Wholesaler’s Area. You have to be a legitimate business to get in there and last time I went to the show, I wasn’t allowed in.

Today though, I could see some really sparkly stuff on the other side of the curtain and decided to give it a try. I had some of my business cards on me. I filled out the form. Checked off the box for “designer” and a quick glance at my business card and a star stamp on the back of my hand and I was IN! Nothing like being let into an exclusive area to make you feel legitimate!

There was so many precious and semi-precious stones and crystals and precious metals, it made my head spin! It was dazzling to my poor eyes! My inner magpie was squealing away in excitement. I couldn’t do a lot of shopping, my poor wallet is so thin right now, but I think it made me more conscientious of what I was choosing to spend my money on and consequently, I think I definitely got more bang for my buck. Definitely a good business management lesson to be had, albeit a frustrating one.

We cut our visit short since we got there so late and the show ended at 5 but after a while, all the sparkle was just running together and we couldn’t even focus on anything and so much of it was soooooooooo expensive. Even if it was, supposedly, at wholesale prices.

Something I learned was, when going to these shows, know how much gold and silver are going for, because they base a lot of the prices on weight per ounce. They’re supposed to weigh the object in front of you, let you see the ounces on the scale, then calculate the price based on the current price per ounce. If they won’t weigh it in front of you, they’re trying to overcharge you.

Overall it was a successful trip and I’m feeling inspired, since I really had to pay attention to what I was buying, everything I got is stuff that definitely resonated with me and I can’t wait to get to creating with it.

About bonefishdesigns

I hold a BFA in printmaking and drawing from Shepherd University in Shepherdstown, WV. Drawing and illustration have always been my passion and I make my living teaching people how to draw and paint. Currently, in addition to my work as a lifeguard, swim instructor and an art teacher, I'm also an apprentice to a tattoo artist and have done quite a bit of flash as well. I started this blog more as a way for me to keep track of my thoughts and inspiration, resources and references but I'm more than happy to welcome you to it with open arms. View all posts by bonefishdesigns

Leave a Reply

mangotree illustration

Site now at mangotreeillustration.co.uk

TAM Blog

The Official Blog for Tattoo Artist Magazine

CRAFT FAIR-OLOGY

It all starts behind the scenes.

Blog of the Courtier

by William Newton

Artworx Gallery

ARTWORX GALLERY

Outside The Lines

Fun readings about Color, Art and Segmation!

Ladybird~Ink

Content Writing Service - "Reaping Business Fortunes Through Words"

Inspirational Quotes | Motivational Blog | Images | Pictures

Quotes For Kids | Success Quotes | Bob Marley Quotes

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

mediaevalmusings

1,000 years of history in blog-sized bites.

Talia's World

A Home For Science Fiction and Fact

Utopia or Dystopia

where past meets future

